Movie Monday – Drama Special: The Three Female Runaways (2014)

Starring: Seo Ye Ji as Su Ji, Jang Hee Jin as Yeo Jin, Park Hae Mi as Hyeong Ja, Choi Joon Yong as Police Chief, and Jo Young Jin as Su Ji’s father

Rating: PG-13, subject matter

Running Time: 67 min

Twinkies: 3 1/2 stars Continue reading

Bulletin Board: August 2, 2015

Bulletin

Happy Sunday, Twinkles!

This summer’s definitely been an interesting one, huh? I usually revive and post a number of fun corners like “Romps in PseudoKorea,” but Real Life waylaid me this year from indulging in my annual summer blogging festivities. *sigh* Ah well, at least we’re still together to enjoy the end of the summer, right? 😉

Without further ado, let’s take a look at some announcements in our little Kdramaland niche…

Continue reading

Giveaway: Let’s-Celebrate-Birthdays Winners!

congratulations-desi-glitters-19

Hello, everyone! My apologies for the late announcement of the winners, but I’ve been a bit swamped with Real-Life duties, and it’s taken me a while to go through the entries, confirm who is subscribed, type the names all down, select the winners using random.org,…You guys get the picture. lol.

In any case, let’s just cut to the chase. Announcing the winners to the Let’s-Celebrate-Birthdays Giveaway…! Drum roll, please! 😉 *cues drum roll* And the winners are…

Continue reading

Friday Fun: Park Bo Young – “Leave” (떠난다)

FF 07-31-15 2

Happy Friday, Twinkles~! It’s been a good two months since I last wrote a “Friday Fun” post, huh? But with my summer term almost over, I’m now ready to resume blogging duties. :)

I know that my FF posts usually feature upbeat songs, but today, I thought that I would introduce you to the newly released song from the Oh My Ghost OST in commemoration of some goodbyes that I had to say yesterday.

You see, for the past eight years, I’d been teaching at a second college as an adjunct faculty member. During that time, I had made some unforgettable memories, forging meaningful relationships and honing my craft as a teacher. But more than anything else, I’d come to love the college that had provided me with so many opportunities…and now as I prepare to settle down permanently as a full-time, tenure-track faculty member at my first college, I thought it only fitting that I say a final farewell to my time at this college, one that has certainly meant a great deal to me.

For those of you in similar situations of transitioning into a new phase of your life, or perhaps you’ve already done so and would like to simply reminisce about the past, I hope that this soothing song of memories and leaving–sung by none of that Park Bo Young–will help you not only ease into another weekend but remind you of the good memories and provide you with hope for what is to come.
Continue reading

Wednesday What?!: July 29, 2015

WW

I know that it’s no longer Wednesday in some parts of the world, but here in California, it’s still Wednesday so…Happy Wednesday, Twinkles! Woohoo~! It’s Wednesday!!! *dances Happy Snoopy Dance*

As evident by the sad lack of posts–Thank you, NewKDramaAddict, for your steadfast work on the blog!–I’ve been sorely limited in my ability to write these past few weeks because of Real Life. *sigh* However, the good news is that the summer term is quickly coming to a close for me, so I should be able to frolic to my heart’s content soon. :)

Due to this *cough cough* demanding schedule and a problem with my trusty laptop, Einstein, last week, I wasn’t able to post a “Wednesday What?!” challenge. :( My apologies. I’m hoping that this week’s challenge makes up for it. :) As for the last mystery, kfangurl deftly guessed all three components of the challenge. Hmm…good to know that she’s a kindred spirit when it comes to Kdrama viewing and justified my faith in this community’s Kdrama knowledge! 😉 You can check out the answer/comments here. :)

Everyone ready for this week’s challenge? It’s Wednesday, Twinkles! *blows noisemaker* And you know what this means. *wiggles eyebrows* The game’s afoot!

Continue reading

Movie Monday – Gabi (2012)

Starring: Joo Jin Mo as Illichi, Kim So Yeon as Danya, Park Hee Soon as Emperor Gojong, Yoo Sun as Sadako, Kim Ga Eun as Geum Hee, and Kim Eung Soo as Miura

Rating: PG-13 (R), subject matter and some violence

Running Time: 115 min

Twinkies: 4 1/2 stars Continue reading

Happy Birthday to All July Babies


First, I’ll take a moment and wish our fearless leader, Snoopy, a belated birthday! I hope your day was as special as mine might be….well, my day isn’t over yet but Snoopy wanted me to add my special birthday wish (and story) from my own personal blog. Continue reading

Movie Monday – Miyamoto Musashi (2014)

Starring: Kimura Takuya as Miyamoto Musashi/Shinmen Takezo, Takaoka Saki as Okou, Sawamura Ikki as Sasaki Kojiro, Matsuda Shota as Seijuro and Kagawa Teruyuki as Takuan

Rating: PG-13 (R), some violence

Running Time: 280 min (2 ep, 140 min)

Twinkies: 5 stars for KimuTaku!! Continue reading

Wednesday What?!: July 15, 2015

WW

Happy Wednesday, Twinkles! Woohoo~! It’s Wednesday!!! *dances Happy Snoopy Dance*

Last week’s mystery was easily solved by hariaharia, who guessed all three components of the challenge within about 30 minutes of the post uploading to the site. :) You can check out the answer/comments here. :)

As a tribute to my journey through Kdramaland, I thought that I would introduce you all to my very first Kdrama crush. Yup, I just gave you a BIG hint since I’ve been watching Kdramas since the early 90s. 😉

Everyone ready for this week’s challenge? It’s Wednesday, Twinkles! *blows noisemaker* And you know what this means. *wiggles eyebrows* The game’s afoot!

Continue reading

Movie Monday – My Palpitating Life (2014)

Starring: Kang Dong Won as Dae Soo, Song Hye Kyo as Mi Ra, and Jo Seong Mok as Han Ah Reum

Rating: PG-13, subject matter

Running Time: 117 min

Twinkies: 5 sparkling stars Continue reading

Wednesday What?!: July 8, 2015

WW

Happy Wednesday, Twinkles! Woohoo~! It’s Wednesday, and I’ve got another mystery for you to solve. :)

Shl easily solved last week’s challenge and may have possibly prompted dracomama into rewatching the series. 😉 You can check out the answers/comments here. :)

Everyone ready for this week’s challenge? It’s Wednesday, Twinkles! *blows noisemaker* And you know what this means. *wiggles eyebrows* The game’s afoot!

Continue reading

Seoul 2014: Teddy Bear Museum (Part 1 of 2)

Seoul 2014.1

Hello, everyone! *waves enthusiastically from Southern California*

Since my summer schedule’s been a bit unaccommodating, at least to my regular blogging schedule, I thought that I would forego the deadlines of my usual weekly posts–namely “Friday Fun” and “Bulletin Board”–and instead take some time to prepare those long-awaited Seoul 2014 posts. Heh, yes, I haven’t forgotten about them. I did mention that I’m considered the turtle of the family, right?

So, for your viewing pleasure, I present to you the first of two posts on the famed Teddy Bear Museum at Jeju Island. Warning: There are a lot of pictures, so it may take a while for all the photos and videos to load properly, hence the two separate posts. :)

Ready for some cuteness overload? *squees in anticipation*Continue reading

Movie Monday – Rurouni Kenshin Series (2012-2014)

Rurouni Kenshin-collage

Starring: Sato Takeru as Kenshin Himura, Takei Emi as Kaoru Kamiya, Eguchi Yosuke as Hajime Saito, Aoki Munetaka as Sanosuke Sagara, and Aoi Yu as Megumi Takani

Rating: PG-13, some violence

Running Time: Rurouni Kenshin (2012) 135 min, Rurouni Kenshin: Kyoto Inferno (2014) 139 min, Rurouni Kenshin: The Legend Ends (2014) 135 min

Twinkies: 5 stars forever Continue reading

Giveaway: Let’s Celebrate Birthdays! :)

Snoopy Detective*whispers* I don’t know if you’ve heard, but there are some birthdays that need to be celebrated this month.

*shouts in full volume* Are you ready to help NewKDramaAddict and me C-E-L-E-B-R-A-T-E being blessed with another year of life?! *blows noisemaker and throws confetti in the air* Continue reading

Wednesday What?!: July 01, 2015

WW

Happy Wednesday, Twinkles! Woohoo~! It’s Wednesday, and we’ve got another mystery to solve. :)

Last week’s pictorial challenge was quickly solved by Mara, who even knew the time of the scene. Very impressive. *nods in awe* Her response was followed by snow who also knew the answers. However, due to the time stamps of their responses, the title of “True Kdrama Fan” for this week goes to Mara. *throws confetti* You can check out the answers/comments here. :)

Everyone ready for this week’s challenge? It’s Wednesday, Twinkles! *blows noisemaker* And you know what this means. *wiggles eyebrows* The game’s afoot!

Continue reading

Movie Monday – Deranged (2012)

Starring: Kim Myung Min as Jae Hyuk, Lee Ha Nui as Yeon Joo, Kim Dong Wan as Jae Pil, and Moon Jeong Hee as Gyung Soon

Rating: PG-13, some violence and subject matter

Running Time: 109 min

Twinkies: 3 stars Continue reading

Wednesday What?!: June 23, 2015

WW

Happy Wednesday, Twinkles! Woohoo~! It’s Wednesday, and we happily resume our mid-week game of “Wednesday What?!” 😀

The last pictorial challenge before my hiatus was back in May (May 13th to be exact), and although Madkdr correctly answered the first two questions, the third question remained unanswered. For those of you who were wondering about the episode, wonder no more. :) I shall disclose the “closely guarded secret”: It was from Episode 9. :) I think it’s fair to say from the comments that a good number of us–whether vocal or silent–are big fans of back hugs. Heh…You can check out the answers/comments here. :)

Everyone ready for this week’s challenge? It’s Wednesday, Twinkles! *blows noisemaker* And you know what this means. *wiggles eyebrows* The game’s afoot!

Continue reading

Movie Monday – Another Family (2014)

Starring: Park Chul Min as Sang Gu, Jeong Jin Yeong as Judge, Yoon Yoo Sun as Jung Im, Kim Gyu-Ri as Yoo Nan-Joo, Kim Young Jae as Manager Lee, Lee Kyeong Yeong as Kyo Ik, and Park Hee-Jung as Han Yoon-Mi

Rating: PG

Running Time: 120 min

Twinkies: 4 stars Continue reading

Bulletin Board: June 21, 2015

Bulletin

Happy Sunday, Twinkles! I’m baaaaaaaaaaaaaaack~! *dances Happy Snoopy dance* Did ya miss me? 😉

Needless to say, I totally missed you guys! It’s kind of weird, though. After not writing anything for almost an entire month, typing this post tonight makes me feel a bit…odd. I just can’t explain it other than that I feel rusty. LOL.

Anyhow, for those of you who’ve been keeping up with all the Kdramaland news, you probably already know just how many announcements I have to share…However, in consideration of time, I’ll try–operative word being “try”–to keep today’s bulletin post to a reasonable length. Just keep in mind that I haven’t blogged for several weeks, so who knows just how long this post may actually be…Heh, you’ve been forewarned. 😉

Enough hemming and hawing. Let’s get started on this week’s announcements!

Continue reading

Klay-drama: Alternate Reality

2015-06-14 22.08.33

Or how Who Are You: School 2015 should have really ended.

Continue reading